Mockingbird

Eyes… whether they’re drenched in tones of blue, green, brown or two-toned, they are prolate spheroid shaped projectors that flash clips of a persons past and present soul.

The human eyes are an external portal of verbalization that silently speak volumes. Expressive pupils narrating memories of happiness, moments of insanity, snippets of scars and lyrics of love.

I am one who has a minor incapability of publicly expressing certain emotions. Sadness, anger, frustration and stress are storms that thunder within while those infamous words of “I’m fine” are spoken out. Its not a case of robotism, I feel every emotion there is, even unknown emotions. I just have this automatic response to keep it all inside so that I won’t appear helpless or weak. I know that showing the down-sided emotions aren’t signs that a person is weak or helpless. In fact sadness, anger and stress are all perfectly healthy emotions to feel as long as they are handled in an appropriate fashion. However, I am wired to display the “I’m fine” persona while figuring out and solving any problems in my head. It’s the way I’ve always played this part of life. My glossed lips lie while my eyes spark the underlining truth. I have never been able to master lying eyes, although now that I’m thinking about it, that’s probably a good thing.

On the flip side of this conversation, I learn an I finite amount of information about who someone is through their eyes. While ones  personality is an important asset, it is an asset that can change its tone and vibe, like a chameleon. It has the capability to be completely honest and at the same time honestly deceiving. But those eyes, honest projectors of ones inner workings.

Hazel with specks of green… when I’m feeling joyful or excited, those green specks of mine bursts like sparklers, making my eyes appear much more green than they actually are. When stress, sadness or anger temporarily move in, those sparklers are diffused and the hazel shade somberly deepens. Most of the time, its that beautiful combo of speckled hazel. I’m going to sound weird for a moment and admit to you that I love the color of my eyes, but I kind of also wish I had blue eyes. Have you ever seen the shades that blue eyes take on depending on what mood he/ she is in? It’s way cool. My mom has beautiful turquoise blue eyes. Not too many people have that shade. Oh, and those born with heterochromia.. I’m a touch jealous. 😉

How we perceive ourselves, others and the world around us is all soaked in and exuded out through our eyes. What do you see when you look at your mirrored self? What stories and memories do you see when you look into someone else’s eyes?

Eyes… whatever colors they’re drenched in, they are the key that unlocks the human soul.

Until next blog… Love Derra ❤

P.S. Happy St. Patty’s Day!!

 

Leave a Reply

