Dare to be You ;)

3 a.m…… no sleep insight so as the music is flowing through my headphones an epiphany sparks into my crazy little mind for a new blog topic. Something different, kinda spunky… I’m going to share some random facts about myself with you guys. Yep, I’m going to split open my body and give you an inside look at the workings of what makes me, me. So grab some 3-D glasses, bag of mini Oreos and a Dr. pepper…. here we go.

-first and foremost, I hate clowns and porcelain dolls. Those creepy lil’ buggers scare the shit out of me. Even though I have a love for horror movies, I stay away from all clown slasher movies and any movie that has those creepy possessed dolls in them. Nope, I did not see Annabelle last October. No way… Never ever!

-leading off of my first fact, I love horror films. I don’t know exactly why, but any movie that is made to scare the pants off the audience with its intense creepy contents is intriguing to me. It goes back to when my dad allowed me to watch Silence of the Lambs with him for my 12th birthday. His plan was to scare the crap out of me, but it quickly back fired. I was hooked. And yes, this means that some of the TV programs I watch are on the more creeped-out side. Criminal Minds, Stalker, American Horror Story…. yes!

-I have a love/hate relationship when it comes to being surprised. I love surprising my friends and family. Putting a bit of extra sunshine in their day with an unexpected gift or gesture. It absolutely makes my day to see their smiles light up the room. However, I love/hate being surprised myself. I love the unexpected gesture, but the fact that I don’t know its coming or what’s going on kinda bugs me. Not in an upset way, more like if I were 10 again and I want to know what’s going on. I guess its that whole needing to know “what’s happening” situation. Whatcha doin’? lol

-I’m a total bookworm. I’m the girl who loves going to the bookstore, walking in and glancing at aisles and aisles of every authors artwork. Starbucks coffee in hand and I’m ready to peruse each shelf for a new treasure. Finding new authors… checking out new genres, stocking up on the newest releases… its my paradise. Once I’m home, I find that cozy spot to chill in and escape into my newest purchase. The feel of the book in my hands, the sound each page makes as I turn them, the smell of the ink… i’ll see you in 500 pages. 😉

-Being a Cali girl, I love the beach. Summertime equals many, many days spent in the warm sand and cool ocean waves. I must admit something though, these sunny beach days are my second favorite kind of day. Yep, I love me a gloom and doom day. You know, those days were the skies are a deep dark gray, thunder vibrates the heavens and the smell of rain is just around the corner. All that’s needed to make these days complete are a comfy couch, a selection of movies and a variety of munchies to snack on. Oh yes, that’s my kind of day.

-Ive been asked what inspires me when it comes to my writing. Well, the world does. I find sparks of inspiration everywhere, in everything. From places I travel to, moments spent with family and friends, music I listen to, books I read, quotes from writers that I admire (from my favorite authors to bloggers that I follow), movies and shows I love to watch, paintings (artwork in general)…. there’s a lot of negativity in our world and my mind has a tendency to find the small glimpses of candle light in it all. My heart then wants to take those small fames and ignite them into a full blown bonfire.

-when I was 11 years old I started having nightmares and to this day I still have them. Not as much, but once in a while they like to pop in and jolt the small amount of calm slumber that I get. The nightmares led to having insomnia plus I was always a night owl, even when I was just a munchkin. Its a beautiful triple threat dose of insanity.

-this leads me to this next fun fact… I love the night time. The black velvet sky studded with diamond constellations. A sense of peace and serenity breeze by while all of the ambient sounds catch their zzzz’s. Funny thing is that I also do my best writing at night. Not just because my days are busy with the hustle of life, but because my mind has a more organized traffic flow at night.

-My a caffeine addiction is a problem. Not one that needs to be solved, there are more dire situations that we should tend to. Yes, I have the Starbucks app and yes my fridge always has Dr. Pepper in it. What can I say, this adorable zombie has to energize somehow..lol

-Make-up… now ladies, make-up is a way for us to highlight our already beautiful features and a way for us to express how we are feeling that day. Sometimes I’m feeling like the girl next door so I create a simple yet angelic look. Some days I’m feeling fierce which means the bright red lip makes an appearance while other days I’m feeling spunky so I experiment with colorful shades of eyeshadow or eyeliner and pop on a bright pink lips. Heck, feeling sexy, then smoke those gorgeous peepers out and kick it up a notch with a dark plum lip. Either way, make-up isn’t intend to be caked on and cover who you are up. Its to enhance the glow within. You don’t need to walk around looking like a group of 4 years gang banged your face with their Crayola crayons and markers.

-I’m a stuffer… at least that’s what my sister calls me. When I’m upset, sad or frustrated in life, I do what I do best… I say that I’m fine, bury the pain and move forward. Now I don’t recommend this form of dealing with the stressful bits in your life because its not dealing with them at all. Its like shoving all of your clothes, shoes, books and anything else you can jam into your closet and shutting the door. Guess what, the mess is still there and once you open that door the mess is going to spit out everywhere. It doesn’t clean itself up. I’m working on the whole being open and talking about what’s going on thing… its a work in progress.

-guilty pleasures. We all have them, some more than others, but I have two in particular ones. I know I’m an adult, but I love me a bowl of Capn’ Crunch. That’s pretty much self explanatory on why, it’s yummy. Now the second one, I’m a fan of the show Pretty Little Liars. I know that’s a show mainstreamed towards the teenage group, but I am hooked. You’ve got a masked psycho killer in a black hoody running a muck around town playing murderous games with the strategically hand picked group of people in town. Its insane.

-music is a big part of my life, its always humming through my speakers. Cooking in the kitchen requires music to shake what my momma gave me, its all part of the dinner making experience 😉 , cleaning the house, laying in bed late at night, roadtrippin’ it…. crank up the tunes hunny! If I’m writing my blog or another book, part of my process is to stick those headphones in and blast the music. It helps block the distractions so that I can soley concentrate on my thoughts.

Well, there’s a microscopic view of what my DNA looks like. Always be yourself because you’re an original and playing a game of copy cat is boring and dull. Be You(nique). Dare to be You…I Dare You!

Until next blog…. Love Derra ❤

P.S. what’s your DNA look like?

Leave a Reply

