All I Want is Something Beautiful to Say…

Miscommunication… Static… White Noise….

Ever have those moments where you know what you want to say, you know the tone in which it will be expressed and the vibe of each word as they slip between your lips. Its perfectly mapped out in your mind. And then those luscious gates open, but it twists into a train wreck of collided thoughts and confusion.

Standing in the wreckage, small flames sparking from the spilled gasoline. You take in a panoramic view of the destruction and quickly decide the best possible scenario on how to save the undamaged words and rebuild the slightly torched. Time taken in cleaning up the grounds and reconstructing the original plan with updates. Thought 2.0 if you will.

Before I write a new blog or while writing a manuscript for a new book, I have a sticky process that I go through every time. Write, read over, fix any errors and change small snippets to upgrade my thought, re-read, upgrade once more, re-read for a third time and then sit back and read it backwards to spot any punctuational errors. The last step being the fight between my fingers and my mind on whether or not to upgrade it one last time before clicking “post” or just let it be and let it out into cyberworld. I am an over thinker when it comes to my writing, which is probably why the outside critics don’t get to me. I am my own worst critic, I’ve already commented my own work 10 times over, so bring it on.

I am very passionate (sounds better than obsessive) about what I ship out for others to read because I want to make sure that anyone who views my work is left with a positive feeling, a feeling of hope. I want to lighten the heavy hearts in the world and make the lazy minds ponder. I want to make a mark that leaves a tiny impression in someone’s day. I want to know that my words are inflicting good, not evil.

Confusion happens… static creates chaos, but there’s always a way to fix the miscommunication. My process: I take a step back, close my eyes, take a deep breath, put on my “Starry Night” playlist and go back at it. Sometimes you have to crash a few times before you can speak that smooth thought.

Do you ever get caught up in the white noise? Until next blog… Love Derra ❤

P.S. failures don’t equal failing…. Quitting does.

P.S.S. Here are a couple of my go to songs… Lose Yourself By: Eminem & Breakdown By: Seether

Leave a Reply

